Sunday, March 15, 2015

Book Review: Where Trust Lies

And now, for the book that inspired last week's blog post.


Where Trust Lies
Janette Oke
Laurel Oke Logan

She loves her friends and students in the West, but family obligations have called her home. Where does she truly belong?

After a year of teaching in the Canadian West, Beth Thatcher returns home to her family. She barely has time to settle in before her mother announces plans for a family holiday--a luxurious steamship tour along the eastern coast of Canada and the United States. Hoping to reconnect with her mother and her sisters, Beth agrees to join them, but she quickly realizes that things have changed since she went away, and renewing their close bond is going to be more challenging than she expected. 

There's one special thing to look forward to--letters and telephone calls from Jarrick, the Mountie who has stolen her heart. The distance between them is almost too much to bear. But can she give her heart to Jarrick when it will mean saying good-bye to her family once again--and possibly forever? And will she still want to live in the western wilds after the steamship tour opens up a world of people and places she never imagined?

Then comes a great test of Beth's faith. Someone in her family has trusted the wrong person, and suddenly everything Beth knows and loves is toppled. Torn between her family and her dreams, will Beth finally discover where her heart truly belongs?

A companion story to Hallmark Channel's When Calls the Heart TV series!


After teaching in the West, Beth Thatcher returns home for the summer. Upon arriving, she finds that her family planned a cruise for the majority of the summer. How will that impact Beth’s hopes for teaching the next year and for her relationship with Jarrick? And what to do about Julie’s suspicious new friends?

Where Trust Lies by Janette Oke and Laurel Oke Logan is the second book of the Return to the Canadian West Series. If fully lives up to the standards set in book one, Where Courage Calls, with its realistic characters, spiritual growth, and intriguing plot. 

To my delight, the story was placed in an entirely different setting—a cruise along the eastern coast of Canada and the United States. The authors give vivid descriptions of the places on the trip, making me wish I was there with them and remembering similar vacations in my life. Interesting historical facts are given as Beth and her family travel to different cities. I learned new things about Canada’s history.

Many of the characters were either new to the series or played a small part in the former book. Each one of them had a distinct personality, a few of which clashed throughout the story.

Beth definitely grew in this novel. True to life, she did not grow only in one way, but in several. I especially appreciated the way she grew in her relationship with her mother. In the previous book, Beth’s heart was softened towards her mother and in Where Trust Lies, Beth continued to grow to understand and know her in a way she never had before.

Despite the fact that Jarrick was hundreds of miles away, Beth and Jarrick’s romance blossomed during the tour as they grew to understand and know each other more than ever before. They are such a sweet couple!

Tying it all together is the bit of action at the end. In many books I saw the climax happen so swiftly I would almost miss it. Not in this book. The situation is drawn out to make the story more interesting and bring the characters together.

As a whole, Where Trust Lies is a very well written novel with vibrant characters and a plot that will make the reader want to read it all over again.

I received a free copy of Where Trust Lies from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review.

No comments:

Post a Comment