Monday, June 15, 2015

Series Review Tour: Age of Alandra Series

Today, I am hosting the Age of Alandra Series Review Tour. It means that nearly everyone on the tour will be hosting a review of one or more of the books in the series. I will be reviewing Silent Orchids, the first book in the series.


Silent Orchids
Morgan Wylie
Release Date: 05/05/13
238 pages

Summary from Goodreads:
A dying realm.

The ancient evil of the Droch-ShĂșil has been unleashed.

The Orchids have been silenced… but for how long?

Daegan, elite of the Ferrishyn warrior tribe of Faeries, is charged with a mission to find the Sol-lumieth, a mysterious new power that could change the fate of all in the realm of Alandria. But he is conflicted by his purpose, and he cannot trust the motives of those he serves. He has too many questions and they must be answered.

Kaeleigh, a girl abandoned as a small child just outside Missoula, Montana, is now 18. She is trying to discover who she is and where she belongs. In her heart, she feels she has family out there… somewhere. Desperate to unravel the mysteries of her past, she embarks on a journey that will forever change her along with her two best friends, Finn and Chel—who have secrets of their own.

Buy Links:

About the Author

Morgan Wylie, originally from the Pacific Northwest, now resides near Nashville, TN with her husband and daughter. She and her husband work everyday at their individual and combined creative pursuits while she learns to balance being “Mama”, wife, and mediator to the many voices and muses constantly chattering in her head.

Author Links:

Review: Silent Orchids

As Kaeleigh starts her new job, everything seems fine. Until she finds out she has a stalker. Kaeleigh’s life has always had some strange things going on—visions and orchids blooming everywhere she looks—but what this man, Daegan, seems to claim is preposterous. But, right after his appearance, her friends start acting strange as well. Secrets abound. Will they learn to trust one another and discover the truth about who they all are before it’s too late?

Silent Orchids, by Morgan Wylie, was not what I expected. I enjoyed it for the most part. The author introduced an interesting world, prophecies, and characters. I ended it wanting to learn more about the world Alandria and what will happen next to Kaeleigh and her friends.

Alandria was interesting. I can imagine the beauty of it. Some of the magical elements, such as the Orchids, were new to me and I want to learn more about them. The evil parts of the land were interesting too. I did not always know who the good and evil characters were, and the evil, magical creatures made formidable enemies.

I enjoyed watching the friendships described in the book. Kaeleigh, Finn, and Chel had a deep friendship, even if there were secrets. It was obvious that the author put much thought and work into their friendship to make it seem so real and have such depth. Daegan and Hal’s friendship was similar.

I expected the characters to charge right into the other world, Alandria, at the beginning of the novel and for Kaeleigh to discover and accept her destiny by the end. After all, that is how most fantasy stories of this kind tend to go. Instead, these and other actions were slow to occur.

At first, I was nervous about the depth of the magic that would happen in this book. I am not a fan of dark magic—things like cutting oneself, human (or other) sacrifices, incantations, or talking to spirits in order to gain magic—and at the beginning of this novel there was some kind of ritual that made me question my commitment to read this book. However, I was glad to see that, other than that short ceremony in which nothing too bad happened, there was nothing to be concerned about.

Overall, I enjoyed Silent Orchids and might one day read the rest of the series. The characters were unique and their friendships almost real. I would recommend it to those who enjoy fantasy books but who don’t mind a little bit of bad language.

I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.


Book Tour Organized by:

No comments:

Post a Comment